Welcome to the home of the New Zealand Harlequins Rugby Club Inc.

The Harlequin Rugby Football Club (Inc.) Hamilton, New Zealand, was formed in the State Fire Office, Hamilton, Waikato, on June 15, 1938.

The Harlequins first team played in Tauranga in 1939. After the war In 1946, there was a meeting of the club and the club stated its aims and objects as:

Many All blacks have played in the New Zealand Harlequins jersey over the years and since the inclusion of the under 17 development programme in 1992, has given a clear development pathway for young up and coming Waikato rugby players.

The annual NZ Harlequins’ under 17 programme has been hailed as an outstanding success since its inception in the early 1990s. Nominations for our trials, up to 160 in some early seasons, exceeded all our expectations.

In the earlier days the special squad trainings got the youngsters excited and the battle for places in the playing side was intense. “Every team featured players from smaller country schools and they grabbed their opportunities with relish. It’s the same today.” The progress of youngsters such as Bruce Reihana, who made the first under 17 team, then Mark van Gisbergan, Isaac Boss and Regan King proved the value of giving these players the opportunity to shine. 

Annual matches with NZ Area Schools and the NZ Vikings club from Northland have become regular features. A NZ Harlequin camp, backed by the NZ Rugby Foundation and support from the Waikato Rugby Union for approx 40-45 players will be staged at St Paul’s Collegiate.

NZ Harlequin Newsletters

NZ Harlequin Newsletter

Please download our latest newsletter here and get the latest news, updates, history of the NZ Harlequins and more.

NZ Harlequin members keep updated in the furture

If you have not already updated your details to keep in touch enter the page link below.
Enter your details here.

Membership subs for this season (1/4/18-31/3/19) of $40 will be due in April 2018

If paying by cheque please send to: NZ Harlequins Rugby Club – PO Box 9195 Waikato Mail Centre, Hamilton, New Zealand.

For members who would like to pay online, please put your name as reference. NZ Harlequins Club bank No. 03 0306 0179170 00.

Match Report: Harlequins U17 vs Taranaki U18

Thursday, September 14, 2017

NZ Harlequins U17 vs Taranaki U18
Saturday 9th September 2017, Albert Park, Te Awamutu.
Result: NZ Harlequins U17:   22            Taranaki U18:   10
  Read More

Match Report: Harlequins U17 vs King Country U18

Thursday, September 07, 2017

NZ Harlequins U17 vs King Country U18
Saturday 2nd September 2017, Owen Delany Stadium, Taupo.
Result: NZ Harlequins U17:   28            King Country U18:   15
  Read More


2019 NZ Harlequins Annual General Meeting 16-Mar-2019

2019 NZ Harlequins Annual General Meeting is to be held on Wednesday March 27th at ..

Sponsor Banner 1